Domaine de Marie
Built in 1938 and located on a high hill some eight kilometres northwest of downtown Dalat, Domaine de Marie is a Catholic monastery for nuns.
The church bears the European architectural style of the 17th century. Its noteworthy feature is that it was built mainly with limestone and molasses.
Unlike many other churches, Domaine de Marie has no bell tower and its façade has triangular shapes decorated with small arches.
Beautiful designs line the main hall inside the church and the most salient point is a three-meter statue of the Virgin Mary standing on a one-ton globe.
Suzanne Humbert, wife of the then French governor in Indochina Jean Decoux, donated the statue. The nuns say Humbert used to visit Domaine de Marie and contributed to upgrading the church.
Unfortunately, in 1944 she died in a car accident on Prenn Pass while she was on her way to Da Lat to reconcile Queen Nam Phuong with Mong Diep, a concubine of Vietnam’s last monarch Bao Dai. Humbert was buried behind Domaine de Marie, according to direction in her will.
In spring Domaine de Marie seems to be even more beautiful as cherry blossoms planted around the church and along the road leading to it embellish the area with vivid colourful displays.
The hill, where the church is located, offers visitors a panoramic view of Da Lat.
Daily services at the church start at 5:15pm on weekdays and at 6am and 4:15pm on Sundays.